Mosquitos can be a nuisance for a number of reasons, not the least of which being their propensity for spreading disease and enjoying you as their next meal. And don’t forget about the itching!

If you, like everyone else, want to effectively protect yourself and your family from mosquitos then it’s important to understand their life cycle. Prevention starts at the beginning:

  1. The Eggs – A female mosquito can lay up to 100 eggs at one time. When laying these eggs she will choose a location with standing water, and lay her eggs just above the water line. It’s important to know that these eggs will stick to the side of the water vessel and can avoid drying out for up to eight months. This means that in warmer climates, the eggs can remain viable even over the wintertime.
  2. Larva – The eggs will turn into larva once the water levels rise over them. They are ready to hatch within a few days, but will not hatch until they are submerged. This stage leaves an opportunity to avoid the incoming swarm of uninvited dinner guests. Mosquito larva will develop into pupa over a time period of approximately five days.
  3. Pupa – Once the larvae grow into pupae they will remain in the water source chosen by their mother and feed on the microorganisms in the water. It will take about 3 days for them to then develop into full-grown mosquitos. Their wings will emerge and they are then free to fly around and become the pests we all know.
  4. Adult – Adult mosquitos then continue the cycle. Males will feed on nectar from nearby foliage and the females will feed on our blood. Once they are full, they are then able to reproduce and the cycle begins again.

Once the mosquitos have matured into adults, you have a slightly more difficult infestation on your hands. In regards to mosquitos, prevention is the best approach.

If you would like to learn more about mosquio control options for your home, please contact us for a free inspection. We offer residential pest control and commercial pest control for the greater Capital District area including Albany, Schenectady, Saratoga and Rensselaer Counties.